Aspects of Pressure: A Poem

Dear Readers,

This poetry blog is more related to society than politics per se but I still felt it was important to upload. This is most definitely the most personal post I have uploaded, but if all of my posts were the same then I fell people would lose interest quite quickly. The poem I have written below is a frantic gathering of not only my own thoughts but of common trends I have noticed in society, particularly as a teenager. This poem is a commentary on my observations primarily but some experience. In my own opinion, sometimes pressure and stress isn’t necessarily a bad thing, as long as it is motivating you to achieve your goals as opposed to taking over your life. However, I shan’t get into mental health now, that is a blog for another time.

Am I…

Am I what I wanted to become

LOL BRB G2G

Those signs that my life revolves around

The broken remains of myself cannot be found

 

Am I what I wanted to become

Stressed out, running round

Those grades on paper I cannot live without

No laughs are safe from my doubt

 

Am I what I wanted to become

Deep breaths, meditation

The calm I try to find after the storm

Angry so quickly, never warm

 

Am I what they wanted me to become

Perfect figure, perfect diet

Judging stares from every person

Everyone trying to make it worsen

 

Am I what they wanted me to become

Top marks, brilliant mind

Always outshone by someone else

Strapped together by ever tightening belts

 

Am I what they wanted me to become

Machine made, brainwashed

Doctor, Lawyer, Rich, Dead

Be the same is what they said

 

Having a conflict of two minds.

 

 

 

Signing out,

Bookfulblog

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. shannonsedit says:

    Wow I love this poem and can relate to it so so much! Thank you for sharing this! xx
    https://shannonsedit.co.uk/2017/05/14/how-to-find-your-personal-style/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aimee Browes says:

    This is incredible! You’re so talented!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bookfulblog says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  3. Abi says:

    Such a good poem, you’re really talented! I wish I had more poem writing skills!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bookfulblog says:

      Thank you! If you put your heart and soul into writing you can create anything!

      Like

  4. Wow this is absolutely incredible! You are so talented x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

